My Story – The Catch-All

The last time I made a post for this mini blog series was over 2 years ago and I left off talking about my life in 2016. That girl seems so far away and so different from the person I am today. The continually trying to backtrack in my life isn’t really working out so well either considering how long it’s continues to take me to get the words out. So inspired by Isaiah 43:18 and a Sunday Morning Service, I’ve decided it’s best to do a quick recap and move on.

Honestly, if I gave you a play by play of some of what happened in the time between 2016 and 2021, you’d probably think some if it came from a fictional book, so instead of giving you a summary of each life changing event (some of which are already blog posts), I thought I’d share with you some of the things I’ve learned along the way. The things keeping me from still being that same 21 year old girl.

2016 me with an unphotogenic dog verses 2020 me (Both from December).
I know I don’t look very different on the outside, but I promise, I’ve changed!

I’m selfish –

An area I do believe ibe grown in, but don’t get me wrong, I am not cured of all selfishness! But I used to view the world in a very selfish way, which lead somethings being harder on me than they should have. My uncle passed away and my grandma fell and broke her hip all while I was at training and unable to be at home to help my family. I think I spent more time feeling awful I wasn’t there to help, than I did upset the event even happened. That my friends, is a very selfish way to go through life. I learned through all the major life emergencies I’ve been gone for that God provides, with or without my presence. A humbling and freeing realization.

I run from problems –

To completely flip what I just said about feeling bad I couldn’t be around when things got tough, I also run away from problems when things get tough. I think my whole being is essentially an oxymoron. One major family struggle I’ve experienced in the past five years, was my mom being diagnosed with breast cancer (and beating it!). Instead of really even trying to be a good support system, I did a much better job of hiding away at school and pretending nothing was actually wrong. I didn’t really have a lot of time to make the 3 hour drive home, but I’ve also learned that you have time for what you make a priority in your life, and I didn’t make going home to be with my family a priority. Now I try my best to put the priorities, like relationships with others, at the top of my list to sacrifice for.

I still don’t like when God’s Plan and my plan don’t overlap –

I thought when I joined the Army, I had magically overcome this struggle in my life, but taking that step of faith. HA! Boy was I ever wrong. I still have some serious talks with God about where I am in life right now and where MY plan had me being. One of the largest displays of this is when my family made the hard decision to sell the farm I grew up on. The one I would love to have inherited and moved back to one day in about 40 years since I have too much traveling to do before then (You can read more about this part of my life here.). This was a result from my uncle passing away and my dad trying to work full time and manage 2 farm about 25 minutes away from each other, so we sold the farm in Jamestown and my parents bought my dad’s parents farm. This means he still manages 2 farms while working full time, but now they are only 2 miles away from each other, so a little more manageable. My hope was that this would allow my dad to go back to farming full time, but God had a different idea and it was revealed right after the move when my mom was diagnosed with cancer – and my dad carries our health insurance. If I’m being honest, I felt robbed by God when my dad still couldn’t quit the job he has worked many years at and absolutely hates. My dad farming full time again is why I was willing to let it go. Then I let it go and my dad still has the job he hates.

My heart desires are set abroad –

Through my time at Penn State, I was blessed with many opportunities to focus on agriculture internationally. I studied abroad, went to the World Food Prize, got a minor in International Agriculture. I had forgot in the bustle of doing life my way instead of God’s way how much of my heart’s passion lies in helping solve the issue of food insecurity. The experiences God has allowed me to have, have steered me back in this direction that he originally called me. Sometimes I get confused on where I think I am supposed to be and what job I am supposed to have because of this, but I am so glad my delayed start to Penn State and all my experiences in-between allowed me to rekindle this desire in my heart and introduce me to so many people who feel the same.

I am sure more of my life will come out in other blogs I write because these past 5 years since I last left off have been so instrumental in shaping the person I am today. I probably grew more during those years than all the rest of my short life combined, but if you read something that makes you want to know more about my journey, please don’t hesitate to ask! I’ll gladly share with you, what God has done for me. That’s the whole purpose of this blog.

Until next time,

Leave a comment